Now Reading
Bruce Hornsby Enlists Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig and Blake Mills for New Tune: Pay attention

Bruce Hornsby Enlists Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig and Blake Mills for New Tune: Pay attention

Bruce Hornsby Enlists Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig and Blake Mills for New Song: Listen

Bruce Hornsby has teamed up with Ezra Koenig (of  Vampire Weekend) and Blake Mills for a brand new music referred to as “Sidelines.” The observe was co-written by Mills and co-produced by Ariel Rechtshaid, and it leads Hornsby’s upcoming album ’Flicted, which arrives Could 27 through his personal Zappo Productions and Thirty Tigers. Take a look at “Sidelines” under, together with its accompanying music video directed by Kitty Ninon Anais Faingold. Scroll down for the tracklist and Hornsby’s upcoming tour dates.

“‘Sidelines’ is a music about hysteria in varied kinds, beginning with the Salem witch trials of the 1600s then to the present-day pandemic-era panic,” Hornsby mentioned in press supplies. “It options angular melodic content material vocally and a pointillistic center instrumental part.”

Of the video, Faingold added: “I needed the video to learn like visible poetry through the use of allegorical imagery and a stream of consciousness methodology of working. I additionally needed to offer it a handmade really feel to emphasise the sensitivity of the music and vulnerability of the lyrics, so I labored with watercolors on skinny pc paper which I then took pictures of. This gave the animation loads of texture and a degree of DIY analogue imperfection which I believe works nicely with the concept of vulnerability and human emotion.”

’Flicted was recorded final summer season. It completes a trilogy, began with 2019’s Absolute Zero and 2020’s Non-Safe Connection. The three albums are based mostly on movie cues Hornsby composed for author and director Spike Lee. “The album title ’Flicted pertains to this unusual time through which we stay, when the world is mainly, nicely, ’flicted,” Hornsby added.

The brand new report was co-produced by Hornsby and Tony Berg, and options further manufacturing from Rechtshaid and Wayne Pooley, in addition to a duet with Danielle Haim and contributions from composer Rob Moose.

All merchandise featured on Pitchfork are independently chosen by our editors. Nonetheless, whenever you purchase one thing via our retail hyperlinks, we might earn an affiliate fee.


01 Bruce Hornsby / Ezra Koenig: “Sidelines” [ft. Blake Mills]02 Bruce Hornsby: “Tag”
03 Bruce Hornsby: “The Hound”
04 Bruce Hornsby: “Too A lot Monkey Enterprise”
05 Bruce Hornsby: “Perhaps Now”
06 Bruce Hornsby: “Bucket Listing”
07 Bruce Hornsby: “Days Forward” [ft. Danielle Haim]08 Bruce Hornsby: “Lidar”
09 Bruce Hornsby: “Is This It”
10 Bruce Hornsby: “Had Sufficient”
11 Bruce Hornsby: “Easy Prayer II” [ft Z. Berg, Ethan Gruska and Rob Moose]12 Bruce Hornsby: “Level Omega”

Content material

This content material will also be considered on the positioning it originates from.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top